Some public health vital records offices house birth certificates for individuals born in that particular county. If your county health department does handle the vital records the following information will be helpful.
Who can receive a certified copy of a birth certificate?
In Georgia, only certain people are entitled to a certified copy of a birth certificate. According to Georgia law and the Department of Human Resources, the person(s) entitled to a certificate is:
*The person named on the certificate (if 18 or older),
*The parents listed on the certificate,
*The authorized legal guardian or agent, grandparent, adult child, adult sibling or spouse of the person named on the certificate.
What must you provide to receive a certified copy of a birth certificate?
The person requesting a certified copy of a birth record must provide the appropriate fee and a signed request that includes the following information:
*Full name of person shown on the birth certificate
*Date of birth (month, day, year)
*Place of birth (hospital, city, county)
*Full name of mother (include mother's maiden name)
*Full name of father
*Relationship to the person named on the birth certificate request
*A photocopy of your picture I.D.
*The number (full size) of certificates requested.
One certified copy $25
Additional certifications of same record ordered at the same time $5
Requesting a certificate
When requesting a certificate by mail, you must enclose a money order (checks are not accepted) made payable to the county health department's Vital Records. (Ex. Lowndes County Vital Records)
When requesting a birth certificate in person, you may pay by cash or money order.
A valid picture I.D. must be presented to obtain a birth certificate. If you are mailing in the request, include a photo copy of the valid picture I.D.
Most mail requests are processed and mailed the same day they are received.